Understanding Time Zones

  

Time Zones: Each Time Zone is one hour apart.


Don’t let Time Zones be the cause of a late delivery: I found an easy way to keep from being late to pickup and delivery appointments assuming appointment is set for the businesses time zone.  Since my watch stays on Central Time, if I am using my watch, I need to be 1 hour early to an appointment on Eastern Time, I can be 1 hour late to an appointment on Mountain Time, and I can be 2 hours late to an appointment on Pacific Time. Arizona is tricky since they do not change time: If I deliver in Arizona during Standard Time, I can show up 1 hour later than what my watch says, if I deliver in Arizona during Daylight Time, I can show up 2 hours later than what my watch says.


Twice a year you will need to change your clocks either back one hour or forward one hour. An easy way to remember which way to turn the clock is to remember the following quote, “Spring Forward, Fall Back”. In the Spring (2nd Sunday in March), you move your clock forward one hour. In the Fall (1st Sunday in November), you move your clock back one hour.


Arizona: Does not change their clocks to Daylight Time, so during Standard Time they are on Mountain Standard Time and during Daylight Time they are on Pacific Daylight Time. 


Northeastern Corner of Indiana: They are on Central Time even though the rest of Indiana is on Eastern Time.


Standard Time 

- Starts 2 am local time 1st Sunday in November 

- Ends 2 am local time 2nd Sunday in March


3:00 Alaskan Standard Time (AST) 

4:00 Pacific Standard Time (PST)

5:00 Mountain Standard Time (MST)

6:00 Central Standard Time (CST) 

7:00 Eastern Standard Time (EST) 

8:00 Atlantic Standard Time (AST)


Daylight Time 

- Starts 2 am local time 2nd Sunday in March

- Ends 2 am local time 1st Sunday in November


4:00 Alaskan Daylight Time (ADT)

5:00 Pacific Daylight Time (PDT) 

6:00 Mountain Daylight Time (MDT)

7:00 Central Daylight Time (CDT) 

8:00 Eastern Daylight Time (EDT)

9:00 Atlantic Daylight Time (ADT)